VCQ - CO2 plus

Enhanced Oil Recovery

APPLICATION FOR DIRECT CAPTURE AND REUSE OF CO2

CO2-based enhanced oil recovery (EOR) is the practice of injecting pure CO2 into an aging oil well to re-pressurize the well and temporarily increase its production. CO2 Solutions’ technology is well positioned to serve this important growing market.  

The practice of EOR has been used for decades, originating in the Permian basin of West Texas, the largest production area to this day. In the process, CO2 mixes with crude oil (miscible phase). This phase has lower viscosity than crude oil which, combined with the increased pressure, flows to production wells, similar to the concept of a CO2 and soda mixture released from a shaken pop bottle.

This ‘fizzy’ mixture of CO2 and crude oil is separated and the CO2 is recycled and re-injected along with further ‘fresh’ CO2. As a general rule, using conventional EOR techniques, for each tonne of CO2 injected, approximately two barrels of additional oil is produced.1 In addition, approximately 30% of the injected CO2 remains permanently sequestered.2

Illustration: Enhanced Oil Recovery using carbon dioxide (3)

Enormous, untapped potential

In Canada, substantial CO2 EOR reserves are located in Saskatchewan and Eastern Alberta. Analysis by the Integrated CO2 Network (ICO2N) reveals that these regions could use approximately 1 billion tonnes of CO2 over the life of the oil fields based on CO2 that could be available from existing local anthropogenic sources.4

In the United States, existing EOR operations consume approximately 50 million tonnes of CO2 annually and produce nearly 110 million barrels of crude oil in locations ranging from Wyoming and North Dakota to Louisiana and Mississippi, the vast majority of the CO2 coming from natural geologic formations.5 According to a recent study by EOR consultancy Advanced Resources International, U.S. production is expected to more than double in 2020 to 640,000 barrels per day. This in turn would require approximately 117 million tonnes of CO2 annually.6

Given declining natural CO2 sources combined with increasing demand, oil producers are increasingly looking at anthropogenic sources, where cost-effective carbon capture technology can provide a substantial opportunity for profitable hydrocarbon recovery. As such, CO2 Solutions’ technology is well positioned to serve this important and growing market.

1 U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory, Next Generation CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery, February 2014
2 Alberta Innovates, Barriers to CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery in Alberta, October 2013
3 Advanced Resources International and Metzer Consulting, Optimization of CO2 Storage in CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery Projects, prepared for UK Department of Energy & Climate Change, November 2010.
4 ICO2N, A Carbon Capture and Storage Deployment Plan for Saskatchewan, September 2013
5 U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory, Next Generation CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery, February 2014
6 Advanced Resources International, Inc., The CO2-EOR Oil Recovery and CO2 Utilization “Prize”, April 2014

tel : 418.842.3456 fax : 418.842.1732
General information: [email protected]

VCQ - CO2 plus

Récupération assistée des hydrocarbures

APPLICATION DE CAPTURE ET DE RÉUTILISATION DIRECTE DE CO2

La récupération assistée des hydrocarbures (RAH) à l’aide de CO2 consiste à injecter du CO2 à l’état pur dans de vieux puits de pétrole pour les pressuriser et augmenter temporairement leur production. La technologie de CO2 Solutions est bien positionnée pour servir cet important marché en croissance.

La pratique de la RAH date de plusieurs décennies. Elle tire son origine du bassin Permien situé dans l’ouest du Texas, la plus importante superficie de production d’hydrocarbures du monde à ce jour. Lors du procédé, le CO2 se mélange avec le pétrole brut. Le mélange produit a une viscosité moins élevée que le pétrole brut. Combiné à une pression plus élevée, il coule plus facilement dans le puits de production. Cet effet pourrait se comparer à un mélange de gaz carbonique et de bicarbonate de soude s’échappant d’une bouteille de boisson gazeuse qui a été secouée.

Une fois dans le puits, le mélange effervescent de dioxyde de carbone et de pétrole brut est séparé et le CO2 est récupéré et réinjecté avec du CO2 de première source. En général, pour chaque tonne de dioxyde de carbone injectée en utilisant les techniques conventionnelles de RAH, environ deux barils de pétrole additionnels sont produits.1 Quelque 30 % du CO2 injecté demeure séquestré de façon permanente dans le puits.2

Illustration : Récupération assistée du pétrole à l’aide de gaz carbonique (3)

Un vaste potentiel à exploiter

Au Canada, il existe d’importantes réserves qui pourraient être exploitées en utilisant la RAH avec du CO2 en Saskatchewan et dans l’est de l’Alberta. Une analyse menée par l’Integrated CO2 Network (ICO2N) révèle que ces régions pourraient être l’objet d’une utilisation d’environ un milliard de tonnes de dioxyde de carbone au cours de la durée de vie de leurs champs de pétrole, selon la disponibilité du CO2 dans les sources anthropiques locales.4

Aux États-Unis, les opérations de RAH existantes consomment environ 50 millions de tonnes de CO2 par année et produisent près de 110 millions de barils de pétrole lourd. Cette production a cours du Wyoming et du Dakota du Nord à la Louisiane et au Mississippi. Le CO2 utilisé à cette fin provient principalement de formations géologiques naturelles.5 Selon une étude récente effectuée par la société de conseil en RAH Advanced Resources International, la production américaine devrait plus que doubler en 2020 pour atteindre 640 000 barils par jour. Ceci nécessiterait environ 117 millions de tonnes de CO2 par année.6

En raison de la raréfaction des sources naturelles de CO2 et de la demande croissante, les producteurs pétroliers se tournent de plus en plus vers les sources anthropiques qui présentent une occasion substantielle rentable de récupération des hydrocarbures au moyen d’un procédé économique de capture du carbone. La technologie performante et écologique du poumon industriel de CO2 Solutions est une option des plus avantageuses à cette fin.

1 U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory, Next Generation CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery, février 2014
2 Alberta Innovates, Barriers to CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery in Alberta, octobre 2013
3 Advanced Resources International and Metzer Consulting, Optimization of CO2 Storage in CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery Projects, prepared for UK Department of Energy & Climate Change, novembre 2010.
4 ICO2N, A Carbon Capture and Storage Deployment Plan for Saskatchewan, septembre 2013
5 U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Technology Laboratory, Next Generation CO2 Enhanced Oil Recovery, février 2014
6 Advanced Resources International, Inc., The CO2-EOR Oil Recovery and CO2 Utilization “Prize”, avril 2014

tél : 418.842.3456 fax : 418.842.1732
Information générale: [email protected]