VCQ - CO2 plus

Pilot Demonstration with the Energy & Environmental Research Center

In September 2014, COSolutions joined Energy & Environmental Research Center’s (EERC) program Advancing COCapture Technology: Partnership for COCapture (PCO2C) Phase III as a sponsor. Supported in part by the U.S. Department of Energy, PCO2C is one of the world’s leading COcapture technology testing and benchmarking initiatives. The EERC, a high-tech, non-profit branch of the University of North Dakota (UND), is recognized as one of the world's leading developers of cleaner, more efficient energy and environmental technologies. 

In December 2014 and January 2015, COSolutions conducted an extended series of tests of its technology using EERC’s state-of-the-art carbon capture test system. At approximately the 1 tonne-CO2/day scale, the testing involved the use of CO2Solutions’ proprietary 1T1 carbonic anhydrase enzyme to efficiently capture CO2from both natural gas and coal combustion flue gases. The pilot unit was used again for another test in 2016.

A prelude to future demonstrations 

Data from the EERC program provided valuable input for the larger field pilot demonstration with Husky Energy and also provided additional performance benchmarking of COSolutions’ enzyme-accelerated process against other solvent-based processes. 

Compilation and detailed analyses of the results and data from the PCO2C program were published in 2015. The testing at EERC also provided COSolutions with access to its target market in the U.S., as certain results are available to the program consortia, which includes major energy companies and electric utilities.

tel : 418.842.3456 fax : 418.842.1732
General information: [email protected]

VCQ - CO2 plus

Démonstration pilote avec l'Energy & Environmental Research Center

En septembre 2014, CO2 Solutions s’est jointe à titre de commanditaire à la phase III du programme Advancing COCapture Technology: Partnership for COCapture (PCO2C – Développement des technologies de capture du CO2 : Partenariat pour la capture du CO2) de l’Energy & Environmental Research Center (EERC). Cet organisme de haute technologie à but non lucratif de l’Université du Dakota du Nord, est reconnu comme l’un des plus grands développeurs de technologies propres et écoénergétiques du monde. Quant au programme PCO2C, qui est appuyé par le ministère américain de l’Énergie, il s’agit de l’une des plus importantes initiatives internationales d’essais et de comparaison des technologies de capture du CO2.

En décembre 2014 et en janvier 2015, CO2 Solutions a mis sa technologie à l’essai aux installations de capture du carbone à la fine pointe de la technologie de l’EERC. À une échelle d’environ une tonne par jour, les essais consistaient en l’utilisation de son enzyme anhydrase carbonique 1T1 exclusive pour la capture efficace du COprovenant du gaz naturel et des effluents gazeux du charbon. L’unité pilote a été utilisée de nouveau pour un autre essai en 2016.

Un prélude aux démonstrations subséquentes

Les données du programme de l’EERC ont apporté une contribution précieuse au projet pilote de plus grande envergure avec Husky Energy et permis de comparer la performance du procédé accéléré à l’enzyme de CO2 Solutions à d’autres procédés à base de solvants.

La compilation et l’analyse détaillées des résultats et des données obtenus dans le cadre du programme PCO2C ont été publiées en 2015. Les essais à l’EERC ont aussi donné à CO2 Solutions un accès à ses marchés cibles aux États-Unis, car certaines données sont disponibles pour les commanditaires du programme, qui incluent notamment d’importantes compagnies énergétiques et des services publics d’électricité.

tél : 418.842.3456 fax : 418.842.1732
Information générale: [email protected]